We had a busy morning full of grocery shopping and thrift store shopping. We came home and ate lunch. Then I happened to glance up to our little 1 ft tall window and realized it was snowing. The first snow of the season. So, I told Lucy who excitedly ran to our bedroom windows which are a little bigger and we watched it snow. After about 5 min, Lucy shyly turned to me and said, "Put shoes on?" She wanted to go outside.
Hi, my name is Jane and I hate winter. I know, you're all going to give me a lecture about the beauty of the change of seasons and how I wouldn't really like summer if I didn't have winter and how fun snow is and white Christmas and skiing and ice skating and hot chocolate. That's fine. But I still hate winter. Snow is fun for like 5 minutes and then I am totally done with it. But, I have a 2-year-old and I like to at least TRY to be a fun mom, so I said, "Okay! Let's get your coat!"
Unfortunately by the time we put all of our winter gear on, the actual snow had stopped, but there was a dusting on the ground.
Pensive in a new situation, as always.
Charlie, not very excited. It was rather windy, and he kept making surprised noises.
Lucy was a little sad that it had stopped snowing, but she still enjoyed poking a stick in the snow and looking at our footprints.
Then we went inside and made hot chocolate. Lucy likes to "have tea" with James or me quite often. "Have tea" means graham crackers, a few chocolate chips, and some soy milk in a little tea cup. It's nice quality time with her, and she likes to "cheers" with her tea cup. Today we found a new tea set that was made in Germany from the thrift store.
By the way, yes I hate winter and yes I lived in Wisconsin for 4 years. I'll never forget the sensation of stepping outside and feeling the inside of your nose instantly freeze. I'll also never forget trying for hours (yes, hours) to free my car from a prison of snow and ice because it was routinely covered by the snow plows. And I think I permanently lost some marbles when it snowed in May (the same month of our wedding). Okay, I'm done whining!
No comments:
Post a Comment